John Michael Caldwell Student Scholarship

John Michael Caldwell (1951-1998) became the first archivist for the Carl Albert Center Congressional Archives at Oklahoma University in 1979. He initiated an award-winning series of traveling exhibits on Oklahoma and the U.S. Congress. He also obtained an Andrew W. Mellon Foundation Archival Fellowship award for the Center through the National Historical Publications and Records Commission and administered a grant program for visiting scholars.

In 1992 Caldwell left OU to accept a faculty appointment in geography at his alma mater, Louisiana Tech University in Ruston. There, he received the F. Jay Taylor-Tech Foundation Undergraduate Teaching Award in 1998.

The Scholarship
The John Michael Caldwell Student Scholarship was established in 1998 in memory of a former officer and board member of SSA. It is intended to help an SSA member enrolled in a graduate archival education program attend the SSA Annual Meeting. It pays registration and will reimburse up to $600 for travel, lodging, and per diem expenses.

To be eligible you must be an SSA member enrolled in a library, archives, or public history program within the society’s region. The 2020 application deadline is February 21 for emailed applications (mailed applications should be postmarked by February 19). Send applications to the chair of the Scholarships Committee.

Distribution Flyer/Poster

2019 Rodrigo Leal
2018 Irene Lule
2017  Chido Muchemwa
2016  Ofelia Zepeda
2015  Susan Floyd
2014  Laura J. Treat
2013  LaToya Devezin
2012  Sarah Sokolow
2011  Rachel Appel
2010  Michael Aday
2009  Michelle Bogart
2005  Philip Lee Montgomery
2004  Laura Hollingsed
2002  Jennifer Compton
2001  Daria Labinsky
2000  Michael Strom & Heidi Dodson