Scholarships & Awards

The Society of Southwest Archivists offers four scholarships to further the continuing education and professional development of our members.These scholarships provide financial assistance to defray the costs of attending the annual meeting, student tuition and book fees, attendance at a professional workshop or other continuing education activity. An individual may apply for more than one scholarship but may not receive the same scholarship more than once. Descriptions and application guidelines for each scholarship can be found by following the links below.

Annual Meeting Scholarship
A. Otis Hebert, Jr. Continuing Education Scholarship
David B. Gracy II Student Scholarship
John Michael Caldwell Student Scholarship

The Society has two awards recognizing distinguished service. There is the Distinguished Service Award, which recognizes a SSA member who has made significant contributions to the society and the wider archival profession and the Sr. M. Claude Lane, O.P., Memorial Award, which recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions in the field of religious archives. The Lane award created and sponsored by SSA is administered by the Society of American Archivists.

Distinguished Service Award
Sister M. Claude Lane Award